Are Organic Foods More Nutritious?

j

by NutritionFacts.org

}

02.24.2022



There are appear to be no consistent differences in the level of vitamins and minerals in organic versus conventionally grown produce, but organic fruits and vegetables have more phenolic phytonutrients.

New subscribers to our e-newsletter always receive a free gift. Get yours here: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

This is the first of a 5-part video series summarizing the best available science comparing the nutritional content, pesticide risk, heavy metal toxicity, and food poisoning risk of organic versus conventionally raised foods, including a video on practical tips for making your own DIY fruit and veggie wash. Here’s a list of the next four queued up:
• Are Organic Foods Safer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-organic-foods-safer)
• How to Make Your Own Fruit and Vegetable Wash (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-make-your-own-fruit-and-vegetable-wash)
• Are Organic Foods Healthier? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-organic-foods-healthier)
• Are the Benefits of Organic Food Underrated or Overrated? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-the-benefits-of-organic-food-underrated-or-overrated)

I imagine that the reaction to this series will be similar to that of the one I did on GMO foods, riling up critics on both sides of the debate:
• Are GMOs Safe? The Case of Bt Corn (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-gmos-safe-the-case-of-bt-corn/)
• Are GMOs Safe? The Case of Roundup Ready Soy (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-gmos-safe-the-case-of-roundup-ready-soy/)
• Is Monsanto’s Roundup Pesticide Glyphosate Safe? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-monsantos-roundup-pesticide-glyphosate-safe/)
• GMO Soy and Breast Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/gmo-soy-and-breast-cancer/)

More on the nutritional implications of stressed-out plants here:
• Is Hydroponic Basil as Healthy? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-hydroponic-basil-as-healthy/)
• Xenohormesis: What Doesn’t Kill Plants May Make Us Stronger (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/xenohormesis-what-doesnt-kill-plants-may-make-us-stronger/)
• Appropriating Plant Defenses (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/appropriating-plant-defenses/)

The wild video about the reversal of esophageal cancer progression with strawberries can be found here: Strawberries versus Esophageal Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/strawberries-versus-esophageal-cancer/). Production method aside, in vitro, Which Fruit Fights Cancer Better? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-fruit-fights-cancer-better/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-organic-foods-more-nutritious and he’ll try to answer it!

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

source

HalfwayFoods.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Access our

Free Digital Downloads

Reversing Insulin Resistance

Guide to Hormonal Balance for Women

Atomic Habits

Progress Tracking & Plan Adjustments

The Ketogenic Diet: Ultimate Guide for Beginners

Habits to Improve Your Health Instantly

Featured

Related Posts

Top 3 Most Satiating Foods

When it comes to weight loss, there are a lot of things to think about. What type of exercise should you do? How many calories should you eat each day?  What's the best way to cut down on snacking? But one of the most important factors is actually what you eat.  So...

read more

What Actually Works For Fat Loss

If you're like most people, you've probably tried a bunch of different diets and exercise programs in your quest to lose weight.  But have any of them actually worked? Well, in many cases the answer is “no” and even more so, if a diet is successful and leads to weight...

read more
Follow Us

Comments

8 Comments

  1. Valerie Sanchez

    Most studies of the health effects of pesticides have focused on occupationally exposed people, like farmworkers and pesticide applicators. Acute OP pesticide poisonings result in symptoms like nausea, abdominal cramps, diarrhea, dizziness, anxiety and confusion, which can be quite severe but are often reversible.

    Reply
  2. Carly

    Also to avoid GMO's which are not labelled so you have no clue whether you're eating it or not. You don't have to worry about that when you buy organic.

    Reply
  3. Dennis Ryken

    The women I know who eat all organic ….all have huge butts

    Reply
  4. Kev L

    Stop being an ass and finish the topic in 1 video, greger.

    Reply
  5. zukodude487987

    Luckily i have a friend who grows some organic foods in his garden and thus i don't need to worry about any pesticides on certain foods like tomatoes and cucumbers.

    Reply
  6. Joseph1NJ

    Happy to see the good Doc mention the economics of organic foods (albeit brief). Far too many times, for far too many of us, organic is cost prohibitive. The real important question, safety, comes next. Stay tuned…

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts

Top 3 Most Satiating Foods

Top 3 Most Satiating Foods

When it comes to weight loss, there are a lot of things to think about. What type of exercise should you do? How many calories should you eat each day?  What's the best way to cut down on snacking? But one of the most important factors is actually what you eat.  So...

What Actually Works For Fat Loss

What Actually Works For Fat Loss

If you're like most people, you've probably tried a bunch of different diets and exercise programs in your quest to lose weight.  But have any of them actually worked? Well, in many cases the answer is “no” and even more so, if a diet is successful and leads to weight...